Film Puts Teachers Center Stage

By: Mandy Baker - iReporter
By: Mandy Baker - iReporter
In ten communities across the commonwealth, citizens are being invited to a free movie screening and discussion focused on the importance of having an excellent teacher in every classroom for every student in Kentucky. Twelve statewide advocacy organizations have partnered to sponsor this historic event during nearly a dozen concurrent movie screenings on March 27.

Staff Photo: Jason Braverman
Sheri Long listens during new teacher orientation on Monday afternoon. Long will be an 11th-grade language arts teacher at Duluth High School.

In ten communities across the commonwealth, citizens are being invited to a free movie screening and discussion focused on the importance of having an excellent teacher in every classroom for every student in Kentucky. Twelve statewide advocacy organizations have partnered to sponsor this historic event during nearly a dozen concurrent movie screenings on March 27.

The group hopes the night will be a springboard for local and state level action on issues of teacher quality, teacher retention and teacher compensation.

"A recent survey indicated that a million new teachers in the U.S. will leave the profession in the next two years and another million will leave through retirement,” said Stu Silberman, executive director of the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence. “It is our hope that this film will start a conversation about the need to support good teachers in our state."

The centerpiece of the event will be a free movie showing of “American Teacher,” a new film by Oscar winner Vanessa Roth that follows the stories of four amazing teachers and the impact they have on students. After the 90 minute film, those in attendance will have a brief discussion and determine possible next steps.

“The Kentucky Education Association is delighted to support community conversations about what all of us can do to support good teaching and help Kentucky teachers reach every student,” said Mary Ann Blankenship, executive director of the Kentucky Education Association.

Screenings and discussions will be held from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. (local time) in the following communities and locations:

• Bowling Green: Bowling Green Junior High School, 900 Campbell Lane;
• Corbin: Corbin High School, 1901 Snyder Street (movie will be shown March 26);
• Northern Kentucky: Dixie Heights High School, 3010 Dixie Highway;
• Elizabethtown: 323 Morningside Drive;
• Lexington: Northeast Christian Church, 990 Star Shoot Parkway;
• Louisville: Gheens Academy, 4425 Preston Highway (movie will be shown on March 27 and March 29);
• Morehead: Morehead State University, Button Auditorium, Battson Avenue;
• Owensboro: Daviess County High, 4255 New Hartford Road;
• Paducah: Paducah Tilghman High School, 2400 Washington Street;
• Prestonsburg: Big Sandy Community and Technical College

Free limited seating is still available in all areas by registration at www.AmericanTeacherKY.com.

This event is sponsored at the state level by: Council for Better Education • Jefferson County Teachers Association • Kentucky Association of School Administrators • Kentucky Association of School Councils • Kentucky Association of School Superintendents • Kentucky Chamber of Commerce • Kentucky Education Association • Kentucky Educational Television • Kentucky PTA • Kentucky School Boards Association • Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence • United Way

Local contacts are: Bowling Green – Mandy Baker, MHicks@uwsk.org; Corbin – Susie Hart, susie.hart@corbin.kyschools.us; Northern Kentucky- Susan Herron, Susan.Herron@kea.org and Ellen Young, eyoung@kea.org; Elizabethtown – Linda Lynch, linda.lynch@kea.org, Lexington – David Kitchen, david.kitchen@uwbg.org; Louisville – Dr. Lynne Wheat, lynne.wheat@jefferson.kyschools.us; Morehead – Catherine Rogers, catherine.rogers@rowan.kyschools.us; Owensboro – Linda Salyer, linda.salyer@daviess.kyschools.us; Paducah – Craig Carter, ccarter@kea.org; Prestonsburg – Becky Skaggs, bskaggs@kea.org.


WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 144214505 - wbko.com/a?a=144214505