BG Chamber Orchestra Names Orpheus and Conductor’s Award Recipients

The Bowling Green Chamber Orchestra Board of Directors has awarded its annual Orpheus Award to the Carolyn and Lowell Guthrie Family.

The award is the highest honor the orchestra bestows. Annually, it is given to a business or individual who has provided exemplary support to the orchestra. Past winners are Jim and Darlene Johnson, Jerry Baker, Brian and Christy Schuette, Mike and Jana Boswell, and Denny and Carol Wedge. The award is named after Orpheus, the greatest musician in Greek mythology.

Trace Die Cast, Inc., founded by Carolyn and Lowell Guthrie, has been the title sponsor of the orchestra’s Star-Spangled Spectacular concert held each July 4th at WKU’s Guthrie Tower. Chris Guthrie, president of Trace Die Cast, also serves on the orchestra’s National Advisory Board. Senator Brett Guthrie joined Speaker Jody Richards in securing an $80,000 grant for the orchestra

In addition, the Chamber Orchestra has awarded its Conductor's Award to Dr. Janet Bass Smith. The Conductor’s award is given to an individual who has provided exemplary volunteer support. Dr. Smith has served in many capacities including chairing committees, playing in the orchestra, and serving as president and member of the board of directors.

Both the Orpheus and the Conductor's Awards will be presented at the July 4th concert.

The Bowling Green Chamber Orchestra is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization primarily supported by generous donations. If you are interested in supporting the Bowling Green Chamber Orchestra, please contact our office at 270-846-BGCO (2426).

WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7908232 -
Gray Television, Inc.