2014 Jefferson Awards Breakfast

By  | 

BOWLING GREEN, Ky (WBKO) -- The annual Jefferson Awards Breakfast took place at Mariah's this morning.

Four deserving members of the community were honored with the award, after their peers nominated them earlier in this year.

Dave Tatman, who recently retired as General Motors Plant Manager, was today's guest speaker.

Through the Jefferson Awards, the American Institute of Public Service recognizes the sacrifices and accomplishments of people serving others.

"There are so many other people, that without their efforts, their commitment to do the same thing, I wouldn't be here. So, I would just like to receive this award in their honor," said Dr. Eli Jackson, Jefferson Award winner.

"What we try to do with this volunteerism is to improve the quality of life in our communities, That is what it is all about, improving the quality of life," said Christine Porter Coleman, Jefferson Award winner.

"I'm very humbled because our community is so great! I might be the one who started the organization, but I would not be here right now, if not for our awesome community, donating and helping me to get to where I am right now," said Noah Alexander Jones, Jefferson Award winner.

Tina Combs accepted the award on behalf of Dr. Bharat Mody, who was unable to attend. Dr. Mody sends his thanks for the award and said he hopes we can all join hands and not only make a monetary donation, but donate our services and time as well.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus