Kentucky Third in Most "Micropolitan" Areas

By  | 

There were nine Kentucky cities and the magazine listed Union City, Tennessee as counting for both Kentucky and Tennessee because it was near the border.

The Kentucky cities are: Paducah; Corbin, Glasgow; Danville; Richmond; Somerset; Frankfort; Mount Sterling and Murray.

The award, formerly called "Top Small Towns" is designed to honor those communities of 50-thousand people or fewer for their ability to secure new and expanded corporate facility projects.

Qualified projects include those that involve a capital investment of at least one million dollars, create 50 or more jobs or involve new floor space of at least 20-thousand square feet.