Trent Lott Wins Back Leadership Slot in Senate GOP Caucus

By  | 

Republicans selected their new congressional leadership today.

Kentucky's U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell was unanimously elected Senate minority leader while Sen. Trent Lott of Mississippi won election to the Number Two post.

Lott was ousted from the leadership job four years ago because of remarks considered racially insensitive.

Lott returned to the center of power by getting the position of vote-counting GOP whip, nosing out Sen. Lamar Alexander of Tennessee. Sen. Rick Santorum of Pennsylvania told reporters that Lott beat Alexander by a 25-to-24 vote.

After an intense evening in which both men lobbied colleagues during floor votes, the Republican caucus elected Lott, a one-time whip and majority leader, by secret ballot.