WBKO First Alert

Graduated License Law

The first set of drivers under the Graduated License Law is almost ready to take the test to receive an intermediate license. This law went into effect on October 1, 2006.

It puts more restrictions on teen drivers and aims to lower teen-driving crashes.

"Kentucky currently has one of the highest teen crash rates in the nation," said Pat Goad, Warren County Circuit Court Clerk.

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet reports teen drivers account for six percent of the states driving population. However, it said they are involved in 18 percent of the state's fatal crashes.

Anyone who gets their license after October 1, 2006 falls under this law.

Drivers under the age of 21 have to have a permit for six months and have 60 hours of time on the road. The person also has to have practice driving at night.

"At least ten of their hours of driving are mandatory to be done at night," Goad said.

If the driver complies with all of the rules, after six months, that person is eligible for an intermediate license. However, that license also has restrictions.

"The first restriction will prevent the operator from driving between midnight and 6 a.m. unless the person can show good cause," Goad said.

The driver can also only have one unrelated passenger in the car under the age of 20 at a time.

Teenagers also can't have any traffic convictions during the permit and intermediate licensing periods to be eligible to get an unrestricted license.

The law varies slightly for those who are over the age of 18.

To see a summary of the law you can log onto http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/grad_summary.htm and click here if you think you or your teen is eligible to take the intermediate license test.


WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6797457 - wbko.com/a?a=6797457