Thanks to a new state law, students who aren't making the grade will have more to worry about than just answering to their parents .
The new "No Pass, No Drive Law" took effect Aug. 1 and its rule is as simple as its title.
If 16-and-17-year-old's want to obtain a permit or license, they must produce "good marks" in school.
That means, they have to pass four credit-bearing courses and students' grades will show up in a database when they go to get their license.
In 2006, 6000 Kentucky students dropped out of public schools.
With numbers like those, Grant Cobb can understand why it's important.
"It would be a good incentive for them to keep their grades up and just to graduate," 17-year-old driver Grant Cobb said.
There is one way the rule can be waived. If a student can prove losing their license would create an un-due hardship on the family because they must drive to work, the rule can be waived.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet has the final say.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.