Area Schools Receive Money From Race To The Top Grant

By  | 

$40 million will be coming to our area to help some local school districts. The money is all part of the Race to the Top Competition. 22 districts from the Green River Regional Educational Cooperative are the only schools in Kentucky to receive the dollars.

"We were the successful one. We are very very proud of that and we certainly intend to use those Race to the Top dollars to impact student learning in our region and area," says Executive Director George Wilson.

Race to the Top was formed in 2009 and awards school districts grants to improve education and make students college and career ready. The money awarded to GRREC schools will be dispersed over the next 4 years.

Small districts, like Monroe County, know the value every dollar has on education.

"I am elated for our students. They are going to have so many more opportunities than they have ever had before. We try to give them every opportunity that we can financially afford. This gives us an opportunity to afford more things," says Superintendent of Monroe County Schools Lewis Carter.

While it's too early for districts to pinpoint where the money will go some are already looking at possibly adding additional jobs.

"We hopefully are going to be looking at a career counselor which will work with students K-12 and that will be very helpful. We are in a small rural community where basically one high school counselor, one middle school counselor," says Superintendent of Green County Schools Jim Frank.

GRREC officials say no matter what the grant will benefit the area in the long run.

"In a tough economy it's great to get that kind of influx into our community here, says Wilson.

In all 59,000 Kentucky students will see the benefits of the grant.

The 22 districts receiving money include the following:

Adair County Schools
Campbellsville Independent Schools
Carroll County Schools
Caverna Independent Schools
Cloverport Independent Schools
Daviess County Schools
Green County Schools
Hart County Schools
Henry County Schools
Logan County Schools
Metcalfe County Schools
Monroe County Schools
Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative
Owen County Schools,
Owensboro Independent Schools
Russell County Schools
Shelby County Schools
Simpson County Schools
Spencer County Schools
Taylor County Schools
Trimble County Schools
Union County Schools
West Point Independent Schools

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus