Athena Young Professional of the Year

By  | 

The Bowling Green Area Chamber of Commerce announced the winner of the sixth annual ATHENA Young Professional Award today at the Martin Autoplex.

The ATHENA winner embodies a young woman who contributes to not only the advancement of women in business, but in the community.

"This years recipient, Sarah Rasco, had so much interesting, broad volunteer work in additional to her work at Daymar College," said Bowling Green Area Chamber of Commerce Communications and Public Policy Director Nick Fuhrman.

Rascoe, the Director of Career Services and Community Relations at Daymar College, also worked with Big Brothers Big Sisters, Relay for Life, and the American Heart Association among other organizations.

"There's so many I enjoy and work with. It's just hard to pick one," said 2013 ATHENA Young Professional Winner and Daymar College Director of Career Services and Community Relations Sarah Rascoe.

Rascoe's career itself involves improving the lives of others.

"I enjoy my role as the director of career services because I love to see the students come in and grow within their profession and then go out there and get their career," said Rascoe.

Rascoe was selected by a committee of previous ATHENA and young ATHENA award winners, and Fuhrman says it was a tough decision this year.

"Former young Athena professionals will meet in a committee. We don't disclose who or where, and I'm told it took longer than it took to choose the Pope this year," said Fuhrman.

"We just kind of round table and discuss who the best options are going to be, and they were all very talented," said 2008 ATHENA Young Professional Winner Jana Sublett.

Sublett says the benefits of winning go far beyond a trophy.

"It's a great opportunity... a great sisterhood to network and utilize our talents as a unit," said Sublett.

Sublett, the first ATHENA Young Professional Award Winner, says joining the group can mean even more opportunity for professional growth.

Six other women were nominated for the award.

This year's nominees were:

Mandy Hicks, United Way of Southern Kentucky
Katie Beard-Stinnett, The Ridley and Hull Financial Consulting Group
Bethany Richerson, Pro Rehab
Elizabeth Leftwich, Hilltopper Athletic Foundation
Laura Gilbert, Heartland Media
Sarah Rascoe, Daymar College-WINNER
Meredith Webb Thornton, Regina Webb Salon and Spa

More on Rascoe, tonight at 10.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus