Center for Rural Development Expands Service Area

By  | 

The Center for Rural Development has expanded its service area to include three additional counties.

President Lonnie Lawson says in a statement that the counties of Boyd, Carter, and Elliott will now be included in the center's primary service area, which covers 45 counties stretching from south-central to north-eastern Kentucky.

The Somerset-based center was established in 1996 and provides programs, technology and business services to people in its service area. The statement says the added counties are now in the Congressional district represented by Hal Rogers, who was instrumental in helping the center get started. The counties were added to the district when state lawmakers redrew congressional boundaries earlier this year.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus