Deadline Approaching for Storm Unemployment Aid

By  | 

Residents of 21 Kentucky counties affected by severe weather five weeks ago have until April 16 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

The counties in which the assistance is currently available are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Kenton, Johnson, LaRue, Lawrence, Laurel, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

The Education and Workforce Development Cabinet says people in those counties who lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to weather Feb. 29 through March 3 may be eligible for the aid. Farmers and self-employed people who are normally ineligible for unemployment insurance benefits also may qualify.

Applications can be filed at local Kentucky Career Center offices.