Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame

By  | 
View Map

Tonight, we will be celebrating our inaugural induction of the first class in the Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame. The event is being at FSHS starting at 5 PM. We will begin the induction ceremony at 5:45 PM in the Commons Area adjacent to our new gymnasium. We invite you to join us as we celebrate our school community’s rich heritage and these distinguished recipients of the Hall of Fame recognition.

Back in the Fall of 2012, Simpson County Schools announced it is starting a new tradition called the Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame. FSHS and the Simpson County Schools have a rich history and many alumni who have distinguished themselves, as well as many others who have made significant contributions to our school system. Nominations were sought and the F-S Hall of Fame Committee selected 4 members for the inaugural class of 2013!
The Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees:

Ronald Wayne Clark
WKU Basketball Standout under Coach E.A. Diddle 1953-1957
Principal of Franklin-Simpson High School 1962-1966
WKU Board of Regents Member 1974-1990
President of Franklin Bank and Trust 1988-1993
Devoted Sports Booster for Franklin-Simpson High School
Mayor of Franklin 2011-2014
Local Philanthropist donating countless hours and dollars to Franklin-Simpson youth

Dr. David Leon Mooneyhan:
Franklin-Simpson High School Class of 1965
Received PhD from Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College
Director of Vocational Education and Assistant Superintendent for Simpson County Schools
Served as Superintendent of the Fulton County and Shelby County Schools
CEO of the Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative
Noteworthy Leader and Advocate for Public Education

Dr. David Wayne Patterson:
Youngest of twenty children growing up in Franklin
Valedictorian of Franklin-Simpson High School Class of 1977
Received MD from Vanderbilt University in 1985
Past Chief Resident, George Washington University Internal Medicine
Clinical Professor of Medicine, George Washington University Medical Center
24 years of private practice in downtown Washington, D.C.
Named “Top Doctor” and “Best Doctors in America”
Established the Alice and V. K. Patterson Scholarship at Vanderbilt University

Kenny Perry:
Attended Franklin-Simpson Schools
Member of the PGA Tour and Champions Tour with 19 tour victories
Member of the 2004 and 2008 Ryder Cup Teams
Member of the 1996, 2003, 2005, and 2009 Presidents Cup Teams
Achieved Top Ten World Ranking
Noteworthy Philanthropist in the Franklin-Simpson Community

The school district will induct its inaugural class into the Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame on Thursday, February 28, 2013 beginning at 5 PM in the FSHS Commons Area associated with the new gymnasium. A reception will follow the induction ceremony.
Annually, the school district will add another class to the Hall of Fame, which will be located in the Commons Area of FSHS, which is a beautiful area to highlight the Hall of Fame Inductees.
The rules for nominations to the Franklin-Simpson Hall of Fame:
• Graduates of any Simpson County School will be considered. Non-graduates and graduates from outside Simpson County will be considered based on extraordinary contribution to the Franklin-Simpson community.
• Nomination shall include the completed nomination form and may include up to 5 letters of recommendation (no more than 2 pages), and any other documentation deemed appropriate (not to exceed 5 pages).
• A nomination shall be considered for a three-year period or until induction, whichever occurs first. A nominee not selected during the three-year period may be re-nominated for additional three-year periods.
• The selection committee will be appointed by the superintendent of schools on a yearly basis.
• The selection committee will determine the number of inductees each year.
“This is a time to celebrate our graduates who have distinguished themselves and others who made a difference for our school system,” Flynn said. “We look forward to celebrating our first class of inductees with a wonderful ceremony and reception in their honor.”