Bowling Green City Commission Will Have Completely New Face

By: Jon Hardison
By: Jon Hardison

Bowling Green's city commission will have an entirely new face in January. Challenger Elaine Walker took 62 percent of the vote to defeat incumbent Sandy Jones in what had become an intensely personal and heated campaign in the closing weeks.

Brian "Slim" Nash, Delane Simpson, Mark Alcott, and Dr. Brian Strow will comprise the new city commission, defeating incumbents Alan Palmer, Joe Denning and Dan Hall. Commissioner Jim Bullington did not run for reelection, but was credited by Walker for helping her win the mayor's race.

"What I heard was the people wanted a change, the people wanted someone they can trust, the people wanted someone who would take a broken city and turned it around," Walker said.

"It was not my victory, it was the victory of everyone who held a sign for me, who walked door to door, who gave their contributions to me, who talked to their friends. We did it, and I'm gonna listen to those folks," Walker said.

"I'm very proud of what we've done as a city commission for the past four years as mayor, and two as a commissioner, and I will always be proud of that," Jones said.

"I think the vast majority of the negativity in this campaign started with the print media, with the twisting and distorting of the facts, confusion in the public," Jones said.

Walker says she realizes that the new commission faces a learning curve but believes the city manager form of government in place will allow for a smooth transition, and Walker says she is "ready to learn."

WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 1154886 -
Gray Television, Inc.