Transportation Cabinet Announces Winners of Adopt-A-Highway Poster Contest

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 28, 2007) – Students from Muhlenberg North High School, Williamstown Junior-Senior High and Gamaliel Elementary are the top winners in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2007 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest.

The 1st place winner in each of three age categories receives a $100 savings bond along with a framed print of the poster.

The 2nd and 3rd place winners all receive a $50 savings bond and a framed print of their poster. Awards will be presented during a luncheon ceremony Thursday, November 29 at Berry Hill Mansion in Frankfort.

“The purpose of the contest is to increase environmental awareness among children,” said Transportation Cabinet Secretary Bill Nighbert. “We hope to educate kids about the devastating effects of litter, and to change attitudes and behaviors about littering.”

The winners are as follows:
Age 6-9
1st place Dalton Allen Gamaliel Elementary School
2nd place Cassandra Kramer Williamstown Elementary
3rd place Joshua Reaves Williamstown Elementary

Age 10-13
1st place Cody Moore Williamstown Junior-Senior
2nd place Elizabeth Rafi Adairville School
3rd place Johnna Scott Shearer Elementary School

Age 14-17
1st place Jessica Whitehouse Muhlenberg North High School
2nd place Billy Bob Coleman Williamstown Junior-Senior High
3rd place Jaclyn Stith Williamstown Junior-Senior

The Transportation Cabinet received 1,848 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest entries from elementary, middle and high school students throughout the Commonwealth.

Calendars featuring the winners’ posters will be provided to each student and their classrooms in December.

This year’s panel of judges consisted of Transportation Deputy Secretary Crystal Ducker, Education Cabinet representative Elizabeth Hack, Georgetown College Art Department Dr. Juliee Decker, Executive Director of Public Affairs in the Transportation Cabinet Doug Hogan and Miranda Thacker, Statewide Adopt-A-Highway Coordinator.

“With so many excellent posters this year and a tremendous amount of entries submitted, it was really hard to judge,” said Deputy Secretary Crystal Ducker. “We appreciate all the hard work and effort the students put into their posters. Every entry was a winner!”

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet urges students and teachers to get an early start on the 2008 Poster Contest.

The Cabinet will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2008. The entries will close on September 30, 2008.

WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11906126 -
Gray Television, Inc.