Water Shortage Watch Called for May Kentucky Counties

The Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet is urging you to conserve water. This after a water shortage watch is issued for 61 counties in Kentucky, including the majority of our area.

A water shortage watch is issued when drought conditions have the potential to threaten the normal availability of drinking water supply sources. Drought conditions across the Bluegrass range from moderate to severe.

Here is a list of counties under the current watch:

Western Climatic Division - Muhlenberg, Ohio and Simpson counties;

Central Climatic Division - Adair, Allen, Barren, Butler, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Green, Hart, Larue, Marion, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Russell, Taylor and Warren counties;

Bluegrass Climatic Division - Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Nicholas, Owen, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Washington and Woodford counties; and

Eastern Climatic Division - Bell, Clay, Estill, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, McCreary, Menifee, Owsley, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe counties.

And view the map below to get an overall look at the Kentucky counties affected.

Tonight at six, we’ll give you tips on different ways you can conserve water.

To view a full copy of the press release issued, concerning the water shortage watch, click here.

WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8017737 - wbko.com/a?a=8017737
Gray Television, Inc.