Every year around this time, Kentuckians cross the state line to buy fireworks in Tennessee. If you do, you should know about a new law in Tennessee that requires kids to be 16-years-old to buy fireworks.
“I do it with my dad. My dad would buy them and we would do them for the Fourth of July,” explained 10-year-old Meghan Booth.
But because of a new law Megan can’t buy fireworks in Tennessee .
“Nope, they said you have to be 16 or older,” Megan said.
Lucky for Meghan, Aunt Debbie was there to buy them.
“The clerk made sure I was buying the fireworks and would not sell them to her,” Debbie said.
Even before the law, store clerk, Courtney Bond said it’s a rule they’ve always followed.
“As long as their parents gave them the consent to purchase, they would most likely be supervised,” Courtney said. “The only thing it changes is we can’t take the money from kids. We have to take it from their parents.”
“Those maybe are more dangerous you know. You need an adult to help you with those,” Debbie mentioned. “She wanted the kid fun ones. The ones that are not dangerous.”
It may be obvious that some of these big fireworks require adult supervision, but you should also keep a close eye on small fireworks.
“I also do these other things called Pop-Its, where you just throw them on the ground and they go pop,” Meghan explained.
Even though Meghan wasn’t asking for the more dangerous fireworks, Debbie doesn’t mind the new law.
“I do think it’s a good law because it depends on the fireworks, because even sparklers in the wrong hands - a kid could get hurt,” Debbie said.
The Tennessee State Fire Marshal’s Office recommends families attend professional fireworks displays instead of purchasing their own.
For tips on how to reduce injuries while shooting fireworks