Beshear Declares State of Emergency in 12 Counties

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) -- Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear has declared a state of emergency for 12 Kentucky counties where severe storms caused widespread damage this month.

A statement from the governor's office on Friday says the storms that began on April 15 caused flooding and hail damage.

Beshear said in the statement that he has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency and Kentucky Emergency Management to assess damage in the counties to determine whether they qualify for federal aid.

The counties included in the declaration include Bell, Clay, Crittenden, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Rockcastle and Whitley.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 204910921 -
Gray Television, Inc.