The following counties have been awarded Federal Funds through the Department of Homeland Security (DHS)/Federal Emergency Management Agency under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program to supplement emergency food and shelter programs in the county:

Allen $8,571
Butler $5,602
Edmonson $5,602
Hart $7,759
Logan $10,808
Metcalfe $4,503
Monroe $4,167
Warren $46,161

A local board comprised of the area Judge Executives and community/business representatives will determine how the funds awarded to these counties are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the area.

The local board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds available under this phase of the program.

Under the terms of the grant from the national board, local agencies chosen to receive funds must: 1) be a non-profit or unit of government, 2) be eligible to receive federal funds 3) have an accounting system, 4) practice nondiscrimination, 5) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs, and 6) if they are a private voluntary organization, have a voluntary board.

Qualifying agencies are urged to apply. Organizations applying must have an accounting system and have the ability to be their own fiscal agent.

Public or private entities interested in applying for EFSP funds must contact Community Action of Southern Kentucky, 921 Beauty Avenue, P.O. Box 90014, Bowling Green, Kentucky 42102, (270)782-3162, for an application.

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, December 12, 2012, 4:00 p.m., Central Standard Time.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 182304421 -
Gray Television, Inc.