By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) -- Republican state senators are expected to choose their chamber's next president in a meeting Tuesday in Frankfort

GOP Floor Leader Robert Stivers of Manchester is seeking the post, as is independent Sen. Bob Leeper of Paducah.

The election was triggered by the resignation earlier this month of longtime Senate President David Williams, who gave up his Senate seat to accept a judicial appointment in southern Kentucky.

The vote will be taken during a closed caucus at 2:30 p.m. EST. The winner won't officially be seated until January.

Because Stivers in seeking the presidency, his position as floor leader is open. Sen. Damon Thayer of Georgetown and Sen. David Givens of Greensburg are vying for that job.

Senate President Pro Tem Katie Kratz Stine is unopposed.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 180886131 -
Gray Television, Inc.