WKU Joins Conference USA

By: Jeff Woods
By: Jeff Woods

Bowling Green, Ky--Western Kentucky University has announced its intentions to join Conference USA on July 1, 2014.

WKU's departure from the Sun Belt comes just days after the conference announced the additions of Georgia Southern and Appalachian State in all sports and New Mexico State and Idaho as football-only members starting in 2014.

WBKO exclusively reported on Tuesday that WKU coaches of at least one sport had informed players the upcoming 2013-14 season would be the school's last as a member of the Sun Belt. According to SB Nation's Steven Godfrey, WKU refuted the report and denied the school was engaged in any communication regarding a move out of the Sun Belt.

There is no exit fee to leave the Sun Belt and there is a two-million dollar entry fee to join C-USA.

WKU will join Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Florida International and Florida Atlantic as schools that have left the Sun Belt for Conference USA. Those four schools will join C-USA this summer.

In 2014, Conference USA should consist of Southern Mississippi, Rice, Texas-El Paso, UAB, Marshall, Old Dominion, Charlotte, Texas-San Antonio, Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, FIU and Florida Atlantic.

WKU joined the Sun Belt for basketball in 1982. Football did not move to the conference, however, until 2009 when the program made the transition to the Football Bowl Subdivision.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200808771 - wbko.com/a?a=200808771
Gray Television, Inc.