Lady Topper Volleyball Honors 2007 Squad At Annual Postseason Banquet

By: Chris Glowacki, WKU Athletic Media Relations
By: Chris Glowacki, WKU Athletic Media Relations

Bowling Green, Ky. — The Western Kentucky University volleyball team put a final cap on the 2007 season Friday night when they held their annual postseason awards banquet at E.A. Diddle Arena. The Lady Toppers made history in 2007, becoming the first team in the history of the Sun Belt Conference to earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. WKU posted a 27-9 overall record, and finished 14-3 in the Sun Belt Conference.

Junior All-American Megan Argabright and junior setter Julia Noe were named co-Most Valuable Players after helping lead the Lady Toppers to their eighth consecutive 20-win season. Both were named to the all-Sun Belt Conference first team, and were members of the Stellar Spikers team.

Argabright — who also took home the Best Attacker Award — is the only multi-time All American in Lady Topper volleyball history, earning the honor from the American Volleyball Coaches Association every year of her Lady Topper career. A first-team all-Sun Belt Conference selection in 2007, Argabright finished the year with a .373 hitting percentage, while leading the team with 529 kills. She averaged 4.23 kills per game, and posted nearly a block per game. She posted double-figure kills in 34 of WKU’s 36 matches this season, and hit better than .300 25 times. For her career, Argabright currently sits third on the WKU list with 1,536 kills. She will go into her senior season in 2008 needing just 205 kills to pass Jamie Ritterskamp for the most in Lady Topper history.

Noe was selected as the CVU National Player of the Week after averaging 13.78 assists, 2.56 kills and 2.67 digs per game in wins over North Texas and Denver. She recorded four triple-doubles on the season, becoming only the second Lady Topper to post multiple triple-doubles in a career — and the first to have more than one in a season. Noe ranked second in the Sun Belt Conference in assists at 12.74 per game. She also ranked ninth in the league with a .337 hitting percentage. She helped pace the Lady Toppers to a league-best 16.65 kills per game.

A third all-conference selection — senior middle hitter Jenna Gideon — received the Coaches’ Award after wrapping up her Lady Topper career by averaging 2.93 kills per game and posting a .362 hitting percentage. She also averaged a team-best 1.04 blocks per game. Gideon — the lone senior on the 2007 team, and a second-team all-SBC pick in 2007 — suffered an injury late in the season, but came back to help lead WKU to the championship match of the Sun Belt Conference Tournament, and was able to compete in the NCAA Tournament for the second time in her career.

The Best Defender Award went to junior libero Kelly Hofmeyer, who averaged a team-best 4.22 digs per game. Hofmeyer went over 1,000 career digs in 2007, and enters her final campaign ranked seventh on the WKU career list with 1,283 digs. She posted double-figure digs in 30 of WKU’s 36 matches last season, and eclipsed 20 digs in eight matches.

The Most Improved Player Award went to sophomore outside hitter Aquila Orr, who led the Lady Toppers with a .378 hitting percentage in just her second season on the Hill. Orr also averaged 2.86 kills, 1.06 digs and 0.57 blocks per game, while serving 14 aces on the year. She earned a spot on the all-Sun Belt Conference Tournament team.

Orr was also a co-recipient of the team Academic Award along with sophomore Brittany Bowen. In addition, WKU psychology professor Dr. Betsy Schoenfelt was present with the Dr. Charlie Daniel Award — named in honor of WKU’s first volleyball coach. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15897692 -
Gray Television, Inc.