Monroe County's Petett Shares Coach-Of-The-Year Award

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) -- Boyle County's Larry French and Monroe County's John Petett have been selected as the Kentucky high school football Coaches of the Year.

Both coaches helped their teams to great turnaround seasons in 2008, leading their respective schools to the state semifinals.

French led Boyle County to a 13-1 record this fall, helping the school recapture some of the glory days of its run of five straight titles earlier this decade.

Petett led Monroe County to a 12-2 mark a year after the Falcons slumped to a 2-9 record.

Other coaches receiving votes were Philip Haywood of Belfry, Raceland's Randy Vanderhoof, Jim Black of Whitley County, Corbin's Steve Jewell and Ravon Patterson of Shawnee.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.) is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 35902524 -
Gray Television, Inc.