Price, Fant Named All-Sun Belt Conference; Harrison-DocksFreshman of the Year

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. — WKU juniors T.J. Price and George Fant were named All-Sun Belt Conference and redshirt-freshman Chris Harrison-Docks was named the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.

Price and Fant were second-team and third-team selections, respectively, in 2013-14, which matches their placements after their sophomore seasons of 2012-13. Price was a preseason first-team pick heading into this season, and Fant was selected to the second team at the start of the season. Price and Fant are also the last two Sun Belt Conference Tournament Most Outstanding Players, with Fant winning after WKU's 2012 title and Price after the Hilltopper win last season.

Harrison-Docks becomes the fourth Hilltopper to be named Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year, joining Derek Robinson (1998-99), Anthony Winchester (2002-03) and Courtney Lee (2004-05).

Price has put together an outstanding junior season at WKU, as he leads in the team in scoring at 15.4 points per game and is shooting 36.5 percent from three-point range. He ranks 10th in the conference in scoring and 13th in three-point shooting, and he sits fifth in the league with an average of 2.5 made triples per contest. Price has led WKU in scoring in a game 12 times, and the Slidell, La., native has eight 20-point games and 24 double-digit scoring outings this season. Price is also converting at a 77.1 percent clip from the free throw line.

Fant has been a force for WKU as a junior in 2013-14 despite routinely facing double-teams from the opposition. He is second on the team in scoring at 13.2 points per game and leads the squad in rebounding with 6.8 boards per contest, and he is shooting 53.5 percent from the field. His scoring total is good for 18th in the conference, and his rebounding figure places him seventh. In conference games Fant is averaging 6.9 rebounds per game, which ranks fourth in league play. The Bowling Green, Ky., native has led WKU in scoring 10 times in 2013-14 and in rebounding 15 times, and he has four double-doubles on the season.

Despite only playing half of the season due to NCAA transfer requirements, Harrison-Docks has been a steadying force for WKU at the point guard position during his rookie season. He is averaging 10.0 points and 2.2 assists per game, and he is shooting 86.7 percent from free throw range (52-for-60). He is third on the team with 12 double-figure scoring games in 2013-14, and his assist total ranks 14th in the conference in just 23 games played. The Okemos, Mich., native sits third in the nation amongst freshman in free throw shooting.

WKU begins its quest for a third-straight Sun Belt Conference Tournament championships Saturday at 4:30 PM (CT) in the semifinals. Should WKU advance, the championship game will be on Selection Sunday at noon (CT) on ESPN2.

Tickets for the 2014 Sun Belt Conference Tournament are now on sale through the WKU Ticket Office. Each ticket book contains eight tickets. There are a total of eight sessions, with sessions 1-6 including two games each. Session seven features the women's championship game, and session eight is the men's championship game. Ticket books cost $99.00, and seats are general admission. To purchase tickets please contact the WKU Ticket Office at 1-800-5-BIG RED or 745-5222 locally, or order online at

Students who attend Sun Belt Conference institutions can receive free admission.

All-Sun Belt Conference First Team
R.J. Hunter (Georgia State, So., G)
Elfrid Payton (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., G)
Shawn Long (Louisiana-Lafayette, So., F)
Reger Dowell (UT Arlington, Sr., G)
Ryan Harrow (Georgia State, R-Jr., G)

All-Sun Belt Conference Second Team
Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, Sr., F)
Manny Atkins (Georgia State, Sr., F)
Kirk Van Slyke (Arkansas State, Sr., F)
T.J. Price (WKU, Jr., G)
Will Neighbour (UALR, Sr., F)

All-Sun Belt Conference Third Team
Brandon Edwards (UT Arlington, Sr., F)
Tylor Ongwae (ULM, Jr., F)
George Fant (WKU, Jr., F)
Melvin Johnson III (Arkansas State, Sr., G)
Devonta White (Georgia State, Sr., G)

Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year
R.J. Hunter (Georgia State, So., G)

Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Elfrid Payton (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., G)

Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year
Chris Harrison-Docks (WKU, R-Fr., G)

Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year
Ron Hunter (Georgia State)

WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 249649621 -
Gray Television, Inc.