By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) -- Kentucky officials have placed 27 counties on a Water Shortage Watch as high heat and drought conditions persist throughout the state.

The state Energy and Environment Cabinet says the watch is issued when a drought has the potential to threaten drinking water supplies.

The counties are Monroe, Simpson, Warren, Fleming, Robertson, Whitley, Webster, Lee, Owsley, Owen, Pendleton, Crittenden as well as the 15-county Bluegrass Drought Management Area in central Kentucky. Its counties are Anderson, Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Nicholas, Scott and Woodford.

The Cabinet says residents living in these areas should be prepared to reduce water use if they are requested to do so by water suppliers.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WBKO 2727 Russellville Road Bowling Green, KY 42101-3976 Phone: 270-781-1313 After Hours Hotline: 270-781-6397 Fax: 270-781-1814
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161597905 -
Gray Television, Inc.