Independence Bank Awards Record Number of Scholarships in 2017

By  | 

Since 2001, Independence Bank has awarded $814,700 in college scholarships to high school seniors. This year was no different when Independence Bank awarded $119,350 to high school seniors within their service area at a scholarship reception held Tuesday, April 25, 2017. Of that amount, $6,750 has been awarded to Warren County seniors to further their education.

De’Angelo Wilson of Bowling Green High School received the Spirit of 76’ Scholarship for $3,000 and the Maurice E. Reisz $500 and Ernie and Martine Daviess $500 Scholarship. Jordan Cummings of Warren East High School received the $2,750 Warren County Community Board Scholarship.

Thirteen students were chosen as county finalists and awarded the Maurice E. Reisz $500 Scholarship along with a $500 Ernie and Martine Davis Scholarship.

The thirteen chosen were also competing for the Charles A. Reid $15,000 Scholarship.
The thirteen finalists are:
Zachary Ellis-Calloway County High School
Rachel Hunter-Apollo High School
Alison Kuntz-Owensboro Catholic High School
Taylor Cheek-Franklin County High School
Ashley Hale-Mayfield High School
Olivia Potts-Hancock County High School
Isaac Oettle-Henderson County High School
Irelane Enoch-Madisonville North Hopkins High School
Jaylon Carr-Ballard High School
Michael-Ellen Walden-Paducah Tilghman High School
Emma Dame-McLean County High School
De’Angelo Wilson-Bowling Green High School
Helen Chavis-Webster County High School

The Charles A. Reid $15,000 Scholarship went to finalist Jaylon Carr from Ballard High School. This original scholarship started our program 16 years ago and is given in honor of former Independence Bank President, Charles A. Reid. His wish was to develop a scholarship program so that students could continue their pursuit of a higher education - something he placed the utmost importance on.

Maleah Harris of South Spencer High School was awarded the Marjorie Reid $10,000 scholarship. Marjorie Reid, wife of Charles A. Reid, was one of the founding partners of Independence Bank. Mrs. Reid awards this scholarship to a child or grandchild of an Independence Bank employee or director so that the pursuit of higher education is extended to our Bank family.

Other scholarships awarded include:
Maurice E. Reisz Memorial $10,000 Scholarship
The Guy Reisz Memorial $10,000 Scholarship
The Ernie & Martine Davis $3,000 Scholarship
The Lanham Family $3,000 Scholarship
Derek Hart Memorial $1,000 Scholarship
The Spirit of 76’ $3,000 Scholarship
Revolutionary $5,000 Scholarship
Independence Bank Chairman’s $5,000 Scholarship

To learn more about the Independence Bank scholarship program and the scholarships awarded please visit

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus